Archival record of the past event.

4/12/14 7p.m. Holy Cross Church, New Britain
04/06/14 6p.m. Saint Joseph Cathedral, Hartford
Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No. 2 op. 61 (04/12), Brunilda Myftaraj, violin
Szymanowski: Stabat Mater, op. 53 with the New Britain Chorale & Polonia-Paderewski Chorus
Jurate Svedaite, soprano, Heather Petri, alto, Maksim Ivanov, baritone
Schubert: Symphony No. 8, D.759 “Unfinished”
Brahms: “How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place” from “German Requiem” with the New Britain Chorale
Adrian Sylveen, conductor

Szymanowski: Violin Concerto no 2 op 61 Brunilda Myftaraj, violin (excerpt)

Polish composer Karol Szymanowski. Szymanowski (pronounced Shi – man – OW – ski) was the most important Polish composer of the early 20th century. His unique musical style, intensely emotional and often drawing upon Polish and Slavonic folklore, bridges the gap between late European romanticism and the more modernist musical idioms of composers like Stravinsky and Bartok. His music has provided inspiration for generations of Polish and European composers, and was championed in the English-speaking world by conductor Simon Rattle.

In collaboration with the Polish and Polish American Studies Program at CCSU. The concert program is a part of the Connecticut Virtuosi Chamber Orchestra’s Heritage Concert Series, a series exploring the contributions of Connecticut’s many ethnic groups to the state’s cultural heritage. Admission is free for both performances, with a free will offering collected.